A first time footballer

Here at Original Footy, we’re keen to get everybody  involved with the beautiful game regardless of their previous experience, knowledge or interest. Reading the media surrounding football can often be pretty daunting for someone who is keen to get involved but isn’t sure how to or doesn’t understand the terminology that most of us footy nuts take for granted. In this regular feature on our blog, our “first time footballer” will give their own view as a footballing novice entering the convoluted world of football for the first time. If you have any questions or queries you would like the first time footballer to answer whether it be simple football terminology, rules or general info on getting involved with a local club then please message us @0riginalfooty.

 

For me, football has never been of any particular interest in my life. My Dad and Grandpa have always been keener on rugby and I have one other sibling, a sister, who is equally as clueless as me. When a group of friends told me that they were going to write a blog about football – I thought it would be a good opportunity to learn some more about the most popular sport in the world. However, before seeking to seriously advance my pitiful knowledge of football by following @0riginalfooty and reading their blog, I thought it would be fun to take note of just how ignorant I am of the footballing world.

Known teams – Despite not following football, I am actually quite pleased with my knowledge of football teams. Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal and Everton are the first that spring to mind. Tottenham Hotspur, Aston Villa, Burnley and West Ham are a few more that I can recall, but beyond that I get pretty lost. Having lived in Spain for 8 months, I also know Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid (for which I probably deserve bonus points) and I am sure Barcelona has a football team as well…

Known players – This is where my ‘fountain’ of football knowledge shows up pretty dry. I seem to be stuck somewhere in the past with Beckham and Owen being the most prominent names in my mind. It would be humiliating not to know Wayne Rooney but, I’m afraid to say, I know embarrassingly few football players. Luis Suarez bit someone a while ago and I know someone with Didier Drogba’s nickname ‘The Drog’ tattooed on his back…

Football rules – I do not even know where to begin here. I know the offside rule exists because it featured in ‘Bend it Like Beckham’ and you can’t touch the ball with your hands (presumably because otherwise it would be handball). However, as far as tackling and red and yellow cards go, it’s all the same to me.

 

The World Cup is something that I can easily make sense of in my football-confused head. There isn’t any buying or selling of footballers (how does this even work!?). It is as simple as players playing football for their own countries– now there isn’t much to get confused about there. For this reason, I actually am quite looking forward to the World Cup and having read the first few posts on Original Footy’s blog, I reckon I am ready to face the first few matches with reasonable knowledge of what to expect.

 

The first time footballer will be writing regular posts with queries and questions about the game with helpful responses to help others who are equally as oblivious as I and if you have got any questions, don’t be afraid to message us (it surely cant be any worse than the knowledge that I have displayed here…)

 

Leave a Reply

